PDA

View Full Version : 2 cancellations!! Obligées de revenir par voie terreste!!


jlavoi8
07-28-2009, 08:20 PM
:mad:
Bonjour,
Moi et mon amie sommes chez nous depuis quelques heures, alors que nous aurions été supposées être de retour samedi soir. Grâce à votre service, que je qualifierais de médiocre, nous arrivons chez nous avec plus de 2 jours de retard. Je vous résume l’enfer que nous avons vécus à cause de votre compagnie.

Samedi, le 25 juillet 2009, nous partons du Mexique, de l’aéroport de Cancùn. Le vol est prévu à 1h45, mais est retardé d’une heure. Ensuite, lors du décollage, un bris mécanique et le pilote freine juste avant l’envol. Nous restons dans l’avions en attendant que les ingénieurs s’assurent que tout va bien. Le numéro de ce vol est le 8191, opéré par Mexicana. Finalement, nous repartons de Cancùn, avec 3 heures trente de retard pour se rendre a Miami. Là-bas, on court partout dans l’aéroport pour ne pas manquer le prochain vol vers Montréal (#1932). Finalement, celui-ci est annulé pour bris technique. Cette fois American AirLines, nous remet sur un autre vol pour Montréal le lendemain avec escale à New York. Nous n’étions pas très heureuses d’arriver une journée plus ****, mais bon il fallait se faire à l’idée. Le lendemain, dimanche 26 juillet, on repart vers New York (vol #928) avec encore 2 heures de retard. En arrivant à New York, il ne nous restait que 20 minutes pour se rendre à notre autre vol vers Montréal prévu à 9h45 (#4709). On court encore, pour réaliser une fois de plus que le vol est encore cancellé. La frustation envers American AirLines fut à son maximum. Il fallait se rendre à un autre endroit dans l’aéroport pour savoir ce que nous devions faire. Nous avons attendu 2 heures pour nous faire dire que le prochain vol serait aujourd’hui soit mardi le 28 juillet. Il aurait fallut qu’on couche à l’aéroport pendant 2 jours, car l’hôtel n’était pas comprise. En attendant aujourd’hui, nous devions être sur une liste d’attente pour avoir des chances de partir avant. Vous ne pouvez pas vous imaginer à quel point nous sommes déçues du service de votre compagnie. Ma famille c’est tellement fait du sang d’encre pour moi. Nous étions à New York, avec aucun recours.

Pour terminer, nous avons décidé d’utiliser la voie terrestre pour se rendre à la maison. Comme nous ne pouvions plus compter sur les services d’American AirLines, nous avons pris d’autres moyens plus efficaces pour finir par revoir notre maison. La nuit de dimanche à lundi, nous l’avons passé sur le plancher de la station d’autobus Greyhound dans Manhattan. Au fait, nous ne connaissions pas du tout New York, et quelqu’un a pu nous référer à cet endroit. Le personnel incompétent d’American Air Lines, n’a jamais voulu nous donner cette information. Pourtant, nous venions de vivre deux jours d’enfer, on ne savait pas où étaient nos bagages, nous étions perdus dans l’une des plus grandes villes des États-Unis à cause de vous. Pendant 3 jours, nous avons eu les mêmes vêtements sur le dos, car nous n’avons jamais eu accès à nos bagages. Heureusement, ils sont arrivés à Montréal plus tôt que nous. Je ne me suis jamais aussi sentie démunie à cause d’une compagnie qui était renommée selon moi. À mes yeux, elle ne l’est plus. J’en parle beaucoup à mon entourage et ceux qui ont voyagés beaucoup, sont extrêmement déçus de vous. Ils savent que depuis quelques années, vos services empirent, mais à ce point, ils ne le savaient pas. Je ne vanterai jamais plus les services d’American Air Lines. La prochaine fois que j’irai à l’étranger, je ne penserai pas à vous en premier.

Étant donné tous les désagréments rencontrés, nous demandons un dédommagement. Nous aimerions nous faire rembourser la totalité de notre billet d’avion. Pensez-y! J’arrive d’un voyage super, mais tout le monde ne veut pas entendre mon voyage, mais bien ce qui c’est passé à mon retour. En plus, je travail pour une des plus grandes compagnies du Québec, et je dois justifier 2 jours d’absence supplémentaire à cause de la compagnie American Air Lines.

J’aurais pu écrire ce message en anglais pour vous faciliter la vie, mais vous avez compliqué la mienne pendant 2 jours, je n’ai donc plus le goût de me casser la tête pour vous. Pour une fois, forcez-vous pour vos clients.

Leatherboy2006
07-28-2009, 09:26 PM
To bad very few if any on this list know that language you just did your complaint in. Wasted everyone's (including yours) time

Butch Cassidy Slept Here
07-28-2009, 09:44 PM
Yes, folks, it's in French. And, yes, this is an English-speaking site. Rather than try to impress those who live abroad with how we can be ugly Americans I gave a shot at running the text through Babel Fish. As a translation it's far from perfect. But I think the circumstances come across. As you'll note in the final paragraph, the OP apparently does understand English, so English posts will probably be understood. I just hope the OP sent her letter to an American Air office in Canada, rather than direct to Fort Worth.

Hello, Me and my friend sums on our premises since a few hours, whereas we would have been supposed to be of return Saturday evening. Thanks to your service, that I would describe as poor, we arrive on our premises with more than 2 days of delay. I summarize you the hell which we lived because of your company.

Saturday, on July 25, 2009, we leave Mexico, the airport of Cancùn. The flight is envisaged with 1:45, but is delayed one hour. Then, at the time of takeoff, a mechanical breaking and the pilot slow down right before the take-off. We remain in had while waiting for that the engineers make sure that all is well. The number of this flight is the 8191, operated by Mexicana. Finally, we set out again of Cancùn, with 3 hours thirty of delay to go has Miami. Over there, one runs everywhere in the airport not to miss the next flight towards Montreal (#1932). Finally, this one is cancelled for technical breaking. This American Airlines time, gives us on another flight for Montreal the following day with stopover to New York. We were not very happy to arrive one day later, but good it was necessary to be done with the idea. The following day, Sunday July 26, one sets out again towards New York (flight #928) with 2 more hours of delay. While arriving at New York, there remained to us only 20 minutes to go to our other flight towards Montreal envisaged to 9:45 (#4709). One still runs, to realize once more that the flight is still cancellé. The frustation towards American Airlines was with its maximum. It was necessary to go to another place in the airport to know what we must do. We waited 2 hours to make us say that the next flight would be today is Tuesday on July 28. It would have was necessary that one sleeps with the airport during 2 days, because the hotel was not included/understood. While waiting today, we were to be on a waiting list to be likely to leave front. You cannot imagine you at which point we are disappointed service of your company. My family it is so much made blood of ink for me. We were in New York, with any recourse.

To finish, we decided to use the terrestrial way to go to the house. As we could not count any more on the services of American Airlines, we took other more effective means to end up re-examining our house. The night of Sunday to Monday, we passed it on the floor of the bus stop Greyhound in Manhattan. With the fact, we did not know New York at all, and somebody could refer to us to this place. Inefficient personnel of American Air Lines, forever desired to give us this information. However, we had just lived two days of hell, one did not know where were our luggage, we were lost in one of the more big cities from the United States because of you. During 3 days, we had same clothing on the back, because we never had access to our luggage. Fortunately, they arrived at Montreal earlier than us. I never also felt stripped because of a company which was re-elected in my opinion. In my eyes, it is not it any more. I speak about it much with my entourage and those which travelled much, are extremely disappointed you. They know that for a few years, your services have worsened, but at this point, they did not know it. I will never praise again the services of American Air Lines. The next time that I will go abroad, I will not think of you of first.

Being given all the nuisances met, we ask for a compensation. We would like to be made refund the totality of our plane ticket. Think there! I arrive of a super voyage, but everyone does not want to hear my voyage, but well what it passed on my return. Moreover, I work for one of the largest companies of Quebec, and I must justify 2 days of additional absence because of the company American Air Lines.

I could have written this English message to facilitate the life to you, but you complicated mine during 2 days, I do not have thus more the taste to break the head for you. For once, you for your customers force.

Butch Cassidy Slept Here
07-28-2009, 09:58 PM
Sounds like the re-scheduled flight, from Miami to New York, gets into New York too late to make the connection to Montreal. So they opt for the Greyhound. Only the last Greyhound, for the day, to Montreal, has already left. So they spend overnight in the Port Authority Bus Terminal. For those who are not familiar with New York, an overnight at the Port Authority Bus Terminal is like staying overnight in the mental ward. I don't think the OP will be transiting the USA again soon. This also sounds like one of those cases where Mexicana, or American Air, offered a fare of ten bucks less than Air Canada. Air Canada is no better than American in terms of how they treat their customers. The only difference is Air Canada is, by (Canadian) law, obligated to have staff that can speak French and they would have no connecting points in the USA for flights from Latin America.

Butch Cassidy Slept Here
07-28-2009, 10:59 PM
The original poster (“OP”) should try sending a copy of her posting to Transport Canada. Nothing may be done, but it is worth a try. Foreign airlines, including those from the USA, must comply with the laws of Canada if they wish to continue landing at Canadian airports. Click on the lettering (“link”) below.
http://www.cta-otc.gc.ca/doc.php?sid=1061&lang=fra (http://www.cta-otc.gc.ca/doc.php?sid=1061&lang=fra)

L'affiche originale (« OP ") devrait essayer d'envoyer une copie de sa signalisation pour Transports du Canada. Rien ne peut être fait, mais il vaut un essai. Les lignes aériennes étrangères, y compris ceux des Etats-Unis, doivent être conformes aux lois du Canada si elles souhaitent continuer de débarquer aux aéroports Canadiens. Cliquez sur dessus le lettrage (« lien ") ci-dessous.
http://www.cta-otc.gc.ca/doc.php?sid=1061&lang=fra (http://www.cta-otc.gc.ca/doc.php?sid=1061&lang=fra)

AirlineComplaints.org
07-28-2009, 11:10 PM
To bad very few if any on this list know that language you just did your complaint in. Wasted everyone's (including yours) timeThere is no rule stipulating that Complaints are to be made in English.

Simply because a person does not speak a language you understand, does not mean they are wasting other people's time.

If you do not speak any 2nd or 3rd language, we suggest using Google Translate (http://translate.google.com/) to convert to your only tongue. It's free.

azstar
07-28-2009, 11:10 PM
The last line says: I could have written this in English to make your life easier, but you have complicated mine for the past two days. I, therefore, don't feel like making the effort for you. For once, make an effort for your customers.

PHXFlyer
07-29-2009, 03:31 AM
The last line says: I could have written this in English to make your life easier, but you have complicated mine for the past two days. I, therefore, don't feel like making the effort for you. For once, make an effort for your customers.

Thank you for the good translation azstar. You beat me to it! I was going to post it earlier but had internet issues today. Butch...was that Babelfish or Google you ran that through? French is my second language and I got a real kick out of the literal translation! :)

Butch Cassidy Slept Here
07-29-2009, 03:56 AM
I assume one software is no better than the other. Still, not knowing a word of French (unless you count that '70s song which, translated, has the lyrics of "...will you go to *** with me, tonight...") I was able to decipher the business about the missed connections in Miami and New York, and the night spent in the Port Authority Bus Terminal.

Leatherboy2006
07-30-2009, 01:25 AM
There is no rule stipulating that Complaints are to be made in English.

Simply because a person does not speak a language you understand, does not mean they are wasting other people's time.

If you do not speak any 2nd or 3rd language, we suggest using Google Translate (http://translate.google.com/) to convert to your only tongue. It's free.

I recieve a infraction point for making this comment. I find nothing wrong with it, since this a complaint forum and not the airlines corporate complaint department. It seems that the OP would post in language of board to get help/response from board. The fact that s/he stated in their last paragraph it was to waste time to post in French shows that they are not fully aware of this forums reason to be.
I therefore find the moderators/owners giving me a point out of line.

AirlineComplaints.org
07-30-2009, 01:48 AM
I recieve a infraction point for making this comment. I find nothing wrong with itYou received an infraction for making an "unhelpful post". Telling a new member that they are wasting everyone's time with their first post simply because you do not understand it is certainly not helpful.

We do not wish to hijack the OP's thread with this discussion. If you have nothing helpful to say, do not post. Period.

Silent Bob
07-30-2009, 04:15 AM
I gotta say I agree with Leatherboy. The OP does states (as it has been translated by others) that he could have written it in english, but since the airline complicated his life he wanted to complicate theirs. The thing is, this is a complaint board and while there are no rules as to what language we can post in, I would assume that since the majority of complaints are in english then why not this one? The OP's goal is to complicate the airline not the airline complaint forum. Then again ignoring the post outright works too.

Butch Cassidy Slept Here
07-30-2009, 06:21 AM
It may be important to try to understand where the OP is coming from:

First, we're not talking about someone throwing a fit because they couldn't get an upgrade, or their choice of menu item. We're talking about a trip, from Cancun, Mexico, to Montreal. At least in some cases (obviously, not all) that trip can be completed, by air, in ONE day. In the case of the OP it took TWO days. Of those two days the second night was spent in a bus terminal which has an environment not far removed from a mental ward. Indeed, mental patients hang-out (or live) at said bus terminal. Next, if the OP had immediately left Miami International on her arrival, and went directly to the Greyhound Depot, she would have arrived in Montreal within, plus or minus, 5 hours of the time she actually got there. I checked this on a Greyhound schedule.

Also, from what I can deduce from the bad translation, it sounds like Mexicana, and definitely American Air, are not exactly innocent little angels here and the OP someone who "just doesn't get it." At a minimum, American Air owed this woman (and her travelling companions) a night in New York.

So, after all this, the OP sent a copy of her nasty note to a board based in the country (USA) of her discontent. Like a lot of Americans might do in similiar circumstances the OP made no effort to communicate in the official language of the USA, but rather wrote in one of the two official languages of her home country.

Was the OP right in trying to save $10 (my guess) by not flying with West Jet or Air Canada? She, and everyone else, knows the answer to that question now. But who knew when she purchased the tickets?

Hopefully the OP will send a copy of her letter to Transport Canada (the Canadian counterpart of the DOT.) With the recently enacted passenger rights legislation in Canada one can only hope American Air will be told what their responsibilities are if they wish to continue doing business in Canada.

Finally, one poster in this thread indicated French was their second language. So why wasn't the French post translated?

AirlineComplaints.org
07-30-2009, 12:04 PM
I gotta say I agree with Leatherboy.That does not surprise anyone.

The OP does states (as it has been translated by others) that he could have written it in english, but since the airline complicated his life he wanted to complicate theirs. The thing is, this is a complaint board and while there are no rules as to what language we can post in, I would assume that since the majority of complaints are in english then why not this one?Allow us to introduce you to Google Translate (http://translate.google.com/translate?js=y&prev=_t&hl=en&ie=UTF-8&u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.airlinecomplaints.org%2Fshowpos t.php%3Fp%3D10150%26postcount%3D1&sl=fr&tl=en&history_state0=).

Then again ignoring the post outright works too.Correct.

Silent Bob
07-30-2009, 05:12 PM
and does it surprise anyone that the mods would take a quick pot shot at me? Thanks, it kinda makes me feel warm and fuzzy all over. second i know of babelfish, google translate and a few other sites that are similar. Contrary to the gray that is on my mop, I am rather proficient in all the internet has to offer and embrace the technology as such. However (to state once again) this is an english website, that while i AGREE anyone of any language can post here, the OPS piece is rather pointless if they could have written it in english as this site has no affiliation with AA or any airline.

jimworcs
07-31-2009, 01:20 AM
Pourquoi devrait-on ecrire en Anglais? 'Airlines Complaint Forum' n'est pas uniquement reserve aux USA. Croyez-le ou non, les autres pays ont aussi des compagnies aeriennes... et ceux qui parlent un language different ont le droit de pouvoir le lire. Cela vient de ce que certains pays ont meme l'internet! Incroyable!! On n'appelle pas cela le "world wide web" pour rien!

jimworcs
07-31-2009, 01:21 AM
And just to save you the trouble:

[ Why should they post it in English? This is not the United States of America only Airlines complaints forum. Believe it or not, other countries have airlines too.. and other people who speak their languages might also be able to read it. That is because some countries even have the internet! Can you believe it? It's not called the world wide web for nothing!]

Eagleguy
07-31-2009, 03:43 AM
Here is my best translation/interpretation. I apologise to the original writer for any mistakes. Voici ma meilleure traduction. Je m'excuse à l'écrivain original si j'ai fait des erreurs.

Hello,
My friend and I just got home a few hours ago, even though we were supposed to have gotten home Saturday night. Thanks to your service, which I would qualify as mediocre, we have gotten home more than two days late. Let me summarise the hell we have gone through because of your company.

Saturday, July 25, 2009 we leave the airport in Cancùn. The flight is scheduled at 1:45, but is late by an hour. Then during takeoff the pilot brakes just before lift off. We stay on the plane waiting while the mechanics assure us that everything is fine. The flight number is 8191, operated by Mexicana. Finally, we take off from Cancùn, three and half hours late, headed for Miami. There, we run throughout the airport in order to not miss the next flight to Montréal. Then that one is cancelled due to maintenance. This time AA rebooks us for another flight to Montréal the next day with a stopover in NY. We weren’t very happy arriving a day late, but we had to accept it. The next day, Sunday, July 26, we leave for NY (flight 928) with another two hour delay. Once we got to NY, we only had 20 minutes to make the next flight to MTL, scheduled at 9:45. We ran again, only to find out again that that flight is cancelled. Our frustration towards AA was at its height. We had to traipse to another spot in the airport to figure out what we had to do next. We waited two hours to be told that the next flight would be today, Tuesday the 28th. We would have had to sleep in the airport for two days since the hotel wasn’t included. While waiting today we had to be on a standby list to have a chance to leave earlier. You can’t imagine how disappointed we are with your company’s service. My family worried so much about me. We were in NYC with no recourse.

To finish, we decided to use ground transportation to get home. Since we couldn’t count on AA’s service anymore, we took more efficient means to see our house again. Sunday night, going on Monday, we walked through the doorway at the Greyhound bus station. In fact, we weren’t familiar with NYC at all, and someone had to show us. The incompetent staff at AA never wanted to give us this information. Still, we just experienced two days of hell, not knowing were our bags were, being completely lost in one of the biggest cities in the US all because of you. We had the same clothes on our backs for three days, because we didn’t have access to our luggage. Fortunately, they arrived in MTL before we did. I have never felt so powerless/destitute because of a renowned company. In my eyes, AA no longer is. I have talked a lot about it to my peers and those who travel frequently are very disappointed in you. They have known for a few years that your service has deteriorated but not this bad. I will never boast about AA ever again. The next time I go abroad, I won’t think of you first.

Given all the unpleasant circumstances, we are asking for compensation. We would like the total of our whole ticket refunded. Think about it! I come back from a great trip, but everyone doesn’t want to hear about my trip, but rather about what happened on the way back. On top of that, I work for one of the biggest companies in Québec (province), and I have to justify being absent for two extra days because of AA.

I could’ve written this message in English to make life easier, but you have complicated mine for the past two days, so I don’t feel like racking my brain for you. For once, make an effort for your customers.

Jetliner
07-31-2009, 05:24 AM
There is no rule stipulating that Complaints are to be made in English.

Simply because a person does not speak a language you understand, does not mean they are wasting other people's time.

If you do not speak any 2nd or 3rd language, we suggest using Google Translate (http://translate.google.com/) to convert to your only tongue. It's free.

OK, but I think it's a valid point that the posting would have been better to have been english. The whole point of this board is to let everyone know your complaint. If the complaint is in a language not understood by 99.999% of the readers, then most are going to skip it and move on.

Also, while he may have wanted to inconvenience the airline by writing the letter in French, why is he effectively doing the same here?

He can post in Swahili if he wants, but given the choice of A- use a translator or B- skip the post, it think most will choose B. Keep in mind too, that any of these programs are going to have a botch it up curve, so some of the details may or may not get lost in the translation.

AirlineComplaints.org
08-01-2009, 12:09 AM
He can post in Swahili if he wants, but given the choice of A- use a translator or B- skip the post, it think most will choose B.You misunderstood the issue at hand. The whole point is that Leatherboy2006 chose neither A nor B. He chose option C: tell the OP they're wasting everybody's time, which is utterly unhelpful and highly provocative to a new member. Had he gone with option B, we wouldn't even be having this discussion.

Folks, just to re-iterate, there is no rule on AirlineComplaints.org that the complaints have to be posted in English. If you do not understand the language of a post, chose either option A or B, but nothing else.

jlavoi8
08-04-2009, 02:20 PM
Wow!
This is a cute fight between French and English... I didn't think that my complaints would start a fight between language like that... That's ridiculous. I wrote it in French because it's my first language. But I'm able to write and read in English too. I would be able to write it in English but like the administrator said, this is not a rule and it's easier for me to write in English and being unhappy after American Air Lines. Today, I will write in English to make you happier even if it's against my will.

I'm very sorry to waste your time leatherboy, but you waste your time to answer to the threat. You just had to not answer if I waste your time. Scuse me, but your life is not very full if you have time to argue on a threat that waste your time. That's the first time that I came to see your replies after my publication on July 28th. I don't know why I response to all your threat, but thank you for the good comments and for the bad comments, I just want to say you that's because you didn't live what we lived. You don't know what people can lived when flight are cancelled and the company doesn't help people to come back home. The next flight can be in 2 days, but it's not sure, and you have to stay at the airport (no paid hotel), without your luggage, because they are arrive at the good destination but not you. I passed three days in a airport, my luggages were at home, but not me. After all this time to wait a flight impatiently, the next was in two days. **** two days...I don't want stay 2 more days with the same clothes... So I come back by bus. Finaly I spend 3 days in an aiport, with the same luggage. If I had listen AAL and wait, it would be 5 days. That's doesn't make sense that people live this. And it's just a flight between Montreal and New York!! 1 hour of flight!! It's better to take a bus (9 hours) from New York and Montreal. I arrive at home earlier than if I took a plane.

Thank you for all your comments. I will continue to make trips in future because it's the first time that these things happen at the same time. I will probably just change of company or no connection in United States. Understand that we arrived form a trip of one month in Mexico in «packsac». All around Mexico and nothing happen. No steal, no disease... Nothing happen during the trip, and I lived the hell with AAL to come back. I was one month in Mexico and Mexican people are so sweet, and I was 2 hours in United States for a connection and I had the worst problem that you can have and I stayed 3 days finally.

American people, you're not cat's whiskers! There are other people on this earth... I understand you jimworcs.
I hope that this time you won't be against my language. Again, we change our language for you. That's so ridiculous to always change for others, but nobody change for us.

azstar
08-04-2009, 08:47 PM
Language is the curse of all English speaking people, not just Americans. The British and South Africans are the same. They expect the rest of the world to speak English perfectly, but they do not speak any other language themselves. In Spanish speaking countries, if someone attempts to speak Spanish, no matter how poorly, it's seen as a compliment that they are making an effort to speak your language. In English, if you don't speak English well they think you're stupid.