AirlineComplaints.org

AirlineComplaints.org (https://www.AirlineComplaints.org/index.php)
-   American Airlines Complaints (https://www.AirlineComplaints.org/forumdisplay.php?f=2)
-   -   Canceled / Delayed / Overbooked A present-day "Rule 240???" (https://www.AirlineComplaints.org/showthread.php?t=3653)

Butch Cassidy Slept Here Feb 23, 2009 6:23 AM

A present-day "Rule 240???"

Has anyone had an experience where they were able to get an American Air agent to actually honor this rule? There is no mention of bad weather. But, it's difficult to imagine this rule would be honored under those circumstances. Or, is bad weather an "ok thing" under this rule?? As you'll note, this current "rule 240" went into effect during this past April.

http://www.aa.com/content/agency/Boo...e_240_80.jhtml

Hopefully, there will be a few people on here who will NOT think I fabricated this entire webpage. I understand people say I'm an expert at that!

Jetliner Feb 23, 2009 10:16 PM

If there is no mention of weather, then it would not normally be used for that. The reason the airlines don't reaccomodate in weather is that the airline has to pay the other airline for the seat they used.

Also, I'm not sure I understand your question regarding the new effective date. I'm sure something has changed, but what is your question on that?

jimworcs Feb 24, 2009 1:19 AM

Actually, there does appear to be a reference to weather.. this is the quote:

Quote:

Schedule Irregularity
An unplanned change or cancellation which normally occurs on the day of departure.
Examples - mechanical, ATC (Air Traffic Control), crew legality, weather.
I am puzzled by this, as I understood that US airlines would not reaccommodate if the delay was weather related. Indeed many are guilty of finding the remotest relationship to weather in order to avoid any liability. Am I mis-understanding the AA guidance Butch has linked to?

wkharris2001 Feb 24, 2009 2:23 AM