Baggage Problems
COMPLAINT: Baggage sent to different continent, lost for week of Xmas

Old Dec 30, 2006, 7:36 AM

I’m currently studying in Vancouver, Canada and every year for Christmas I fly to Buenos Aires to spend Christmas and New Year’s with my family. My flight plan consisted of catching AA 814 on December 20, 2006 from Vancouver to Dallas. Then after a 6 hour lay-over catching flight AA 963 from Dallas to São Paulo., and after a two hour lay-over catching AR (Aerolineas Argentinas) flight 1241 from São Paulo to Buenos Aires. My brother who lives in Los Angeles was flying from Los Angeles to Dallas, then Dallas directly to Buenos Aires. So, when I arrived at YVR (Vancouver International Airport) I tried to change my flight so that I would be on the same flight as my brother, but American Airlines wanted to charge me 1,400 dollars, so that was definitely out of the question. So my flight plan remained unchanged.

On this trip I was traveling with a backpack and a medium sized duffle bag with wheels. I checked the duffle bag and kept my backpack (Had my laptop in it) and continued on through Immigration. Unlike most airports, at YVR you enter the United States at the airport, so instead of having to pick-up my luggage at Dallas and re-check it, it goes straight to the final destination. The way my trip was set up, my flight from São Paulo to Buenos Aires was on a different itinerary, so upon arriving in São Paulo, I would have to grab my duffle bag and check-in at the regular check-in counter for AR. Unfortunately, when I arrived in Dallas, all flights were being delayed by an hour, so instead of my flight leaving at 7:35pm it left around 8:40pm. In the end, this made me miss my next flight in São Paulo, so I had a 6 hour lay-over in São Paulo to catch the next flight to Buenos Aires. But, this is not what this post is about.