Customer Service
COMPLAINT: Inhumane treatment

Old Jun 1, 2015, 12:28 PM

To whom it may concern,I am writing to complain about the way I was treated at the Emirates check-in counter on the 30th of May between 7 and 9 pm at the Melbourne Airport in Australia. My flight was the EK 407 to Dubai. I am a doctor, a senior registrar with the department of Psychiatry Ahmadu Bello University Teaching Hospital Zaria, with 3 Masters degrees, the 4th is what took me to the VIFM in melbourne to complete the first semester of my MSc in Forensic medicine with a face to face teaching session. Two days before my departure I went online to check the amount of weight per luggage . On the Emirates website it was stated that for economy one was entitled to 23kg per bag and I was entitled to two luggages, therefore i packed accordingly and weighed my luggage before for leaving the Hotel Claremonte at 189 Toorak rd, South Yarra where i had stayed for 3 weeks. At the check in counter i was totally humilated i was made to open my luggage remove 16 kilos and throw some in the bin and leave the rest on the floor. reason being people going to Africa could not carry more than 15 Kg per luggae 30 kilos. I initially was one of the first at the check in counter i eventually was the last with the emirate checkin lady threatening me that they would soon lock the gates if i didn't remove all my things fast enough. Even making comments on the books and other things in my luggage i should drop on the lobby floor and asking me to leave my laptop. I have never been soo humiliated and emtionally traumatized in my life. To be treated this way in front of hundreds of strangers in the airport lobby. I feel it was extremely unfair and that i was treated that way because i am a Nigerian, which really was uncalled for. In the midst of this dehumanizing experience i didnt get the check-in hostesses name but the event was captured by the cctv at the emirates check-in counter at the Melbourne Airport in Australi