Etihad Guest Complaints

Have you tried using your miles or elite status but encountered problems? Had any problems earning mileage?

Frequent Flyer Program
Etihad deceiving and cheating guests

Old Feb 23, 2018, 11:52 AM

I have been a loyal customer with Etihad since their foundation many years ago, and a Gold Guest member for almost 8 years, indicative of my loyalty and custom. I have been accruing Guest miles for many years, and I was wanting to use these to make two bookings, one from Abu Dhabi to Beirut (Business) and another from Abu Dhabi to Sydney (economy), whereby the flights would link. I had the details ready online and I decided to finalise these bookings, so on the evening of January 14 (at around 9.30pm) I opened two separate pages to make and confirm these miles redemption bookings. The Beirut leg was to cost 25000 miles each way (business), while the Sydney leg was to cost 51000 miles each way (with additional taxes to pay). A total of 152 000 miles for the two complete bookings. Whilst both pages were open, the system refreshed after a while and when I tried to access either booking I noticed that the amount of miles required had suddenly increased significantly for both bookings. Thinking there was an error from my side, I tried over and over again to access the same miles bookings but with no success. Within minutes, the miles required to Beirut was now 37000 each way, and to Sydney was now 61000 each way- A TOTAL INCREASE OF 44000 miles, for the same class and category of seats as before!!! I kept thinking that something was wrong with the system and so I kept trying well into that night and next day, but to no avail. I called and spoke with 3 Etihad agents from the contact centres in Europe and in Abu Dhabi, and all of them were apologetic and understanding, and suggested that I should email [email protected]. One of the agents did then mention that there was to be a change in Miles required for many destinations, but that this was supposed to