Check-in / Boarding
COMPLAINT: JFK staff refuse to expedite late passengers

Old Oct 15, 2013, 6:34 PM

After getting stuck in unexpected traffic this morning, an 8:25 AM flight, on my way to JFK I arrived at the terminal with 40 minutes to spare. I approached the security line only to have the E-Borading pass fail to load, 5 minutes gone. I let the representative know that I was running very close to my flight. He spits out "that's your problem you should have been here early." Now mind you I've been traveling for 40 years as I grew up in the industry (my Mom worked for Eastern and my Dad for Aerolineas). I was flat out shocked, I mean you can think that but to say it to a customer! He then proceeded to tell me I could pay $10 for a JetBlue Fastlane pass to make sure I made my flight. Legal extortion! I get in the full service line, 5 more minutes gone, only to be told that none are availabe since the counter is now closed for that flight. The only positive in the situation is the young counter agent tries to get me through only to be told by the same line agent that after my bad attitude I'd have to pay and the counter agent should bill me under a miscellaneous fee and give me a receipt. This takes another 5 minutes so now I'm down to 25 minutes. The Fastlane is short so I'm feeling better, turns out the TSA person checking tickets and ID's is running at 1/4 speed plus she'd also taking regular passengers one for one with Fastlane. Another 7 minutes lost, still no attempts to expedite passengers by JetBlue staff! I get through ecurity with 15 minutes to spare, its takes me 2 minutes to run down the terminal to gate 15, I arrive to find the boarding is already closed and there are 8 of us stranded an dthe next flight is at 5PM. No atempt to re-open the jetway as the aircraft was still there. There were no fianl boarding announcements, no calls over the PA for the last 8 of us, knowing full well we were in the terminal. One ederly man waited over an hour in the regu