Customer Service
COMPLAINT: Haven't You Ever Overslept?

Old Apr 29, 2009, 4:13 AM

I've been chewing on this one for a while, and thought I'd toss it out. I've been flying for twenty years and had the mistaken believe that customers are an important component in the airline industry's scheme. Not so.

In late January, our American Airlines flight originating at Dulles Airport (IAD) left 75 minutes late for DFW (Dallas) because, as the gate agent explained, the lead flight attendant had overslept and the plane couldn't leave without her. The pilots, milling around the gate, did not appear to be happy. Sleeping beauty finally showed up and we left.

During the flight, many passengers around me talked about missed flights. One woman talked about putting in an extra 8 hours of travel time and an extra connecting stop because of the oversleeper. I missed my connecting flight to San Antonio, but that's a milkrun and flights are frequent. When I got to DFW, I went to the departure gate for the next San Antonio flight.

Two women were there, standing near and behind the counter. I said, "I missed my connection because the flight attendant at Dulles overslept." The two women laughed and then ID'ed themselves as flight attendants, and one of the of the two, a flight attendant with long blond hair, asked me, "Well, haven't you ever overslept?"

I was taken aback by this defensive/aggressive comment and asked her,"Excuse me?" She repeated the question and I told her the obvious, "I am not a flight attendant." She ask me again if I'd ever overslept. At that point, the other flight attendant suggested I go to another gate and they'd fix me up.